One wedding task that has been a lot more difficult than I imagined is, weirdly enough, adding stuff to our registry. (I say "our," but this isn't entirely accurate... Last night I thought to ask J. what he wanted to add. He said, "I don't know. Maybe a grill?" And that's as far as we've gotten.)
So, last night I get inspired and set about gleefully adding kitchen gadgets. Stainless steel saucepans! Grapefruit spoons! Ramekins! Oh the joy! (But I can't find a simple freakin' bagel slicer to save my life...)
Then it occurs to me that the time is ripe for karma to bite me on the ass. I have been, I am sad to say, an inconsistent wedding-gifter over the past few years. Some weddings, I was super-organized: I shopped from their registry long before the wedding. Got a wedding gift, shower gift, and even some boudoir gifts. But other times (usually when it's HIS friends), I lose their wedding website address with the link to their registry. Or I forget about the gift until we're sitting there in the pews. Or I spend so much cash just GETTING to the wedding (airfare, hotel, meals) that I can barely pay my rent when I get back, let alone buy them dish towels. (One time, even, we got a wedding announcement from some people we don't even hang out with and who we're pretty sure don't like us. That was so blatantly a gift grab that we didn't grace it with a response.)
So, here's hoping Lady Karma grants me some mercy this once. I really want that decanter...
No comments:
Post a Comment