Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Lazy

It's been a while. I wish I could say it's just because I've been busy, but lately I've gotten to the point where updating feels like a chore. Perhaps because wedding planning has begun to feel like a chore. I'm at that point where the initial buzz has worn off and now I'm staring at a to-do list of phone calls I have to make and contracts to sign and cake tastings to set up and people I have to strike from my guest list...

I've been making headway on my 101 Things list, however. The Year of Buying Nothing is going famously. I survived Black Friday, Cyber Monday, pre-Christmas, after-Christmas, the Victoria's Secret clearance sale and a $15 off coupon from DSW shoes, so the rest of the year should be a piece of cake. Speaking of cake... I've lost six pounds, but have lost my taste for food journals and fanatical exercising ever since I went in for a checkup last week; the PA told me my BMI is "perfect" and if I lose any more weight, I'll be underweight. (Never mind that I think BMI is bullshit, and if my weight is perfect then where did this spare tire come from? At least this means I can drink beer again.) J. and I did #22 (Take a sushi-making class) on Feb. 12, thanks to a Living Social coupon. We learned how to make the rice (the hardest part), practiced proper rolling technique and then got to eat the fruits of our labors. It was also a sake-tasting; I lucked out, as the woman sitting across from me didn't drink, so she graciously and discreetly passed me her sake cups across the table. 

I also went to a Bikram yoga class in Greensboro one recent night with my yoga friends - this is the kind of yoga you practice in a room with the temperature turned up to 105 degrees. Yes, you read that right. I hate sweating in an air-conditioned gym, so why, you ask, would I do such a masochistic thing to myself? Well, I survived Bikram despite its best efforts to kill me, and then we all went out for Thai food and more sake. (Making progress towards #64 - Make a new friend.) I had a funny post in my head all planned out about Bikram and the yoga Nazis who kicked our friend Caitlin out of the building and the man in front of me who sweated so much it looked like he was peeing, and how I thought I was going to die but didn't, but the laziness has taken over. Sorry.

In other news, J. got a new job (good!), I got a new boss (argh!). I went to a concert and got a free snow day. It has been an eventful few weeks of not-writing.

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Karma

One wedding task that has been a lot more difficult than I imagined is, weirdly enough, adding stuff to our registry. (I say "our," but this isn't entirely accurate... Last night I thought to ask J. what he wanted to add. He said, "I don't know. Maybe a grill?" And that's as far as we've gotten.)

So, last night I get inspired and set about gleefully adding kitchen gadgets. Stainless steel saucepans! Grapefruit spoons! Ramekins! Oh the joy! (But I can't find a simple freakin' bagel slicer to save my life...) 

Then it occurs to me that the time is ripe for karma to bite me on the ass. I have been, I am sad to say, an inconsistent wedding-gifter over the past few years. Some weddings, I was super-organized: I shopped from their registry long before the wedding. Got a wedding gift, shower gift, and even some boudoir gifts. But other times (usually when it's HIS friends), I lose their wedding website address with the link to their registry. Or I forget about the gift until we're sitting there in the pews. Or I spend so much cash just GETTING to the wedding (airfare, hotel, meals) that I can barely pay my rent when I get back, let alone buy them dish towels. (One time, even, we got a wedding announcement from some people we don't even hang out with and who we're pretty sure don't like us. That was so blatantly a gift grab that we didn't grace it with a response.)

So, here's hoping Lady Karma grants me some mercy this once. I really want that decanter...